ooo la la

Aha!  One meal down.  So I managed to make my way to the grocery store today, and I’ve planned out this week’s dishes in advance so I’d know which ingredients to buy to avoid rotten vegetables or unused meat.  I have to say, it was so exciting to sift through other food blogs and choose dishes I’d never even imagined trying to prepare.  The dinner was delicious, but there wasn’t much preparation.  It took about 30 minutes to cook in entirety, and the only thing I got to chop was green onions!  The friend whom I’ve shared my meals with suggested I post the recipes… and where the dishes may lack dazzling names (like ‘Purple Tang Pork Chops’ or something), they make up for in simplicity of preparation, handling, and ingredients.  Maybe another novice chef will read and attempt, then comment: “It really needs about half a teaspoon more salt.  And an entire teaspoon of garlic!  I didn’t think it needed it at all.”  REVISIONS!  I’m not against them.

  • 4 pork chops (about a pound)
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup uncooked white rice
  • 3 green onions
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 cup chicken broth

I mixed the vinegar, lemon juice, salt & pepper, and let them marinate the pork for about 6 hours.  Then (with the help of some vegetable oil) I browned the white rice over medium heat.  Once satisfied, I poured in the chicken broth and added the chopped onions.  Bring that to a boil for about 5 minutes, then cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes.  While the rice simmers, sear the pork chops with the remaining marinade for about 4 minutes per side (or until you like it).  Ta-da!  Easy as pie (porkpie, that is).  I think it could be a good idea to use the rest of the vinegar from the pan as a gravy, but I did not.  And I promise it was better than it looks in this terrible mobile upload; I’m going to start using a digital camera to get some decent quality.

Anyway, all day I’d been itching to cook, and now it’s done.  It feels good.  I hope this isn’t some new toy fascination.  I’d like to ride this big wheel right on outta here, if ya know what I’m saying.  And is it bad that I don’t care if the people I feed like my food?  I’m beginning to view my food the way I view my own jokes… just because I’m the only one laughing doesn’t mean the joke’s not funny.

Oh!  Something else exciting:  I bought a baking sheet.  Look at me, guys!  I’m practically a professional.  And after the rice I made tonight, I think I hear Bobby Flay calling me for a Throwdown.  I will totally take you, man.  So in lieu of my excitement to cook today’s and the next week’s worth of dinners, I decided to celebrate by skipping my usual Arbor Mist Strawberry Zif for a fancy $8 bottle.  As I’ve said, I’m but a novice in this crazy cooking world so I have no clue what wine or other beverage to pair with whatever meat or vegetable…  If you are well-versed in the subject, please unleash some knowledge!  Red Bicyclette Chardonnay, 2007.  That’s right…  one thing I do know is that adding a comma plus the year after listing the wine’s name multiplies your own personal fancy-ness exponentially.

So, yes.  A successful evening.  Tomorrow is another exciting day.  I’m going to make bell peppers stuffed with a kind of dirty rice and a side of spicy corn relish/salsa.  That will hopefully make up for the prep-work I so dearly missed today.  As for now, the dishes are calling my name.

Leave a Reply

